A Pair Of Ruby Slippers

October 17, 2006

The Lollipop Guild

Filed under: MACMP — author @ 8:35 pm

I can’t help but wonder how we appear to the outside world? Iind_lollipop32.jpg mean, when I was at dance school my friends assumed it was a cross between Fame – all dancing on tables and paying in sweat and an Enid Blytonesque Mallory Towers, with us sneaking midnight feasts and learning Latin verbs. Whilst I admit to the odd feast, sadly the rest was all in their imaginations, obviously I never told my friends as much though – why ruin a good yarn?

Now I find a little less romantic view is held of where I work. Things we have been accused of include being a little dull, uncreative, not quite as bad as McDonalds to actively malevolent! Sometimes I perpetuate these ideas too, not for the same reason as my school myths, but more because they are time consuming to refute and I can’t always be bothered, however….. I thought I might tackle one here, just in terms of my job. What on earth makes you think I am uncreative?

Firstly, I work with a computer so therefore my job must be dull? Duh…. Have you got no idea just how creative you can be with a computer? Where do I start? Annimation, blogs, websites, advertising, film editing, choreography (check this out http://www.credo-interactive.com/danceforms/), you tube, myspace, ceebeebies for Pete’s sake, the list is endless, its not all spreadsheets you know! Secondly, mercifully we are not surgically attached to our machines, we have meetings, conferences, slagging sessions round the water cooler, there are many other opportunities to be creative at the office.

Talking of meetings, the munchkins gathered today. We discussed the need to change the format of these particular meetings to avoid us being, as Bellina (not her real name of course) put it ‘bored shitless”. We agreed to try new ways to get our message across without inducing comas in our audience. I was feeling pretty pleased with this until I was told “as long as you don’t do any of that creative shit”! It wouldn’t have been so bad, but it came from one of the most creative members of our team, Elphaba (not his real name either clearly) plays guitar, paints and pens brilliant film scripts… at home…. I wish he would bring some of his “creative shit” to our meetings, perhaps then Bellina would re-establish the will to live? I digress, sorry, what I wanted to say was that I have pushed the boundaries a couple of times at work and I have never once, Elphaba aside, been told to can it (ahem). Quite the opposite, we all enjoy a little creative thinking and I would argue we all do it daily. Creative doesn’t always have to mean artistic either – here Elphaba and I agreed.

…she noticed coming toward her a group of the queerest people she had ever seen. They were not as big as the grown folk she had always been used to; but neither were they very small. In fact, they seemed about as tall as Dorothy, who was a well-grown child for her age, although they were, so far as looks go, many years older.

 

 

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. “If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always got” – me.

    If you don’t challenge the perceived norm, then we’ll all continue to be “bored shitless” at team meetings.

    [As an aside, if I recall correctly, that was Bellina’s first meeting of the year having been double-booked for every previous occasion. Not the best position to judge, frankly].

    So if we continue to deliver the standard round-the-table munchkin gathering, what will we achieve? The same. The same old, same old. And Bellina will never rise from her bored stupor.

    Delivering content in a creative way is a challenge to conventional thinking and guarantees that the subject is rarely forgotten and, in doing something different, we will deliver something different. Whether it’s better will be for others and time to judge.

    My message then for the muchkins who shy away from the creativity and don’t embrace change is that they’ll get left behind by those that do.

    Comment by Jonathan — October 18, 2006 @ 10:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

