A Pair Of Ruby Slippers

November 4, 2006

The Hog

Filed under: MACMP — author @ 9:13 am

hogs1.jpgNow you go feed those hogs before they worry themselves into anemia!

Its not just every waking moment…. It is my waking moment. My first thought of the day used to be “if I keep really quiet, I might be able to get a bit more kip before the kids wake up” now I think “if I get up quietly I can sneak off to my PC and get a bit of work done before the kids wake up”. Scary. Even scarier, he’s done it for years. You know you read about those old people that start looking like each other, wearing matching waterproofs and finishing each other’s sentences? Its happening to us already. Scary.

Three main thoughts this week. The first is that the course is taking up much more time than I anticipated. I suspect this is down to naivety, me working slowly and the fact that when I was talking about doing this and asking for opinions from my friends and family, if any of them dared to suggest it was not a great idea, I took the stick a finger in each ear and say LA LA LA LA really loudly approach to listening. So they can feel smug now as I am getting my comeuppance.

The second thought is a realisation of just how much what I do intrudes on the folk around me. I guess for the last few years my activities have been fairly low key due to having the children, which was right, proper and wonderful. This MA is a bit different though. At work, my boss and team mates patiently listen to me droning on and on about whatever happens to be on my mind that day, they tell me when they see something relevant to my course and are always making suggestions (and taking the mickey mercilessly). Friends and Colleagues have warmly received emails out the blue asking for information. At home my son likes to see my “classroom” and discuss my new “school friends” and he has built himself Kondue, a Habbo boy. My daughter, her usual demanding self, is none the wiser, some say we’re alike? My husband cooks more, helps more with child care, loves the fact I can’t sleep like I used to, hugs me when I’m grumpy and copes bravely with the ever deteriorating state of the house. We have understood something else in each other.
The third thought is just how much I’m enjoying it, yes I am drinking more and yes its tinged with guilt, but then I am a working mother so doomed to that anyway. But so far I have only had two Nikki From Big Brother style hissy fits and cried just the once…. . Bring it on!

2 Comments »

  1. [There was a great article on the BBC’s website this week that caused amusement in the office, so I’ll do my best to scatter my answer with as many cliches as is humanly possible.]

    You never get a second chance to make a first impression, Debs. Give it tour best shot, show ’em who’s boss, don’t take a backward step. You can’t approach this thing lying down. Hit ’em early and hit ’em hard, they’ll fold like a pack of cards. That’ll take the wind out of their sails.

    This is a win-win situation here, everyone exercises their right to access the window of opportunity offered, irrespective of their need to do so. At the end of the day it’s all good, no downside, just blue sky as far as the foreseeable future reaches in your universe. You learn, we all learn.

    But at the end of the day, when it comes to the crunch it’s a game of two halves and the winner takes it all. We’ve all got to pull together, because there’s no “I” in team, so lets take this one day at a time and hit the ground running, keeping our eye on the ball and come out fighting.

    We’ve some ideas to knock around the court, we’ve got to sweeten the pot a little, or we’ll lose people hand over fist. Remember, this not a talking shop and it’s no tickbox exercise.

    Keep your shirt on, this is just a storm in a teacup, no-one needs to get hurt. Let’s just back away from the table, kiss and make up and get on with it. You’re jammed up tight to the coalface on this issue. Give yourself some space but don’t go too soft. You’ve got to have something to aim for.

    Hard work never killed anyone. Keep your nose to the grindstone and offer up a carrot or two. The ball is in your court.

    [In short, do your best – we’re all here to help]

    Comment by Jonathan — November 9, 2006 @ 10:10 pm | Reply

  2. tv

    Comment by ellaela-nv — February 4, 2009 @ 10:33 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

