A Pair Of Ruby Slippers

December 7, 2006

Making Slow Loris Look Speedy

Filed under: MACMP — author @ 12:10 pm

slorisb.jpg It’s no use screaming at a time like this. Nobody will hear you. Help! Help!

When did I get so slow? It is just taking me forever to get this work done. That is not good for a person with a limited attention span. Is it just because I can only do it when the kids are asleep (sleep EE, remember that?) or am I just slowing down? Even my procrastination is not what it used to be, I do this instead of searching for holidays I can’t afford. Mind you, I did find time to help Toto make Chet (don’t ask), the large round privit bush outside the house into a giant christmas pudding at the weekend. EE thinks its rubbish but Toto and I are rather proud of it pudding.jpg

2 Comments »

  1. ah, you’re measuring things on the wrong scale. This is a common mistake šŸ™‚ It’s like the time i made that chilli and mistook teaspoons for tablespoons, but after a week or two everyone forgave me.

    Not all learning end up on sheets of paper. Some of it happens inside. Sometimes it’s so far inside that it’s hard to see, and sometimes you never see it yourself at all, even though all those around you spot the difference.

    When i was little we used to go to the fairground in Great Yarmouth. At the gates of the fair was a huge giant. It was the biggest thing you’d ever seen. Anyway, i guess the salty sea air wasn’t very good for it, because every year they kept replacing it. Each summer we’d go back, and each time they’d replaced it with a smaller and smaller giant. I was suprised that they didn’t learn to make it out of something better, but they never did. Eventually they replaced him with a giant that was only a bit taller than me, and that must have done the trick, because he’s been there for some years now.

    Anyway, what was i saying? Oh yes, sometimes it’s hard to see the wood for the trees.

    Comment by 062 — December 11, 2006 @ 12:51 am | Reply

  2. Seemes to me like you’re going great guns – these things often feel like they’re never going to end and then, through inspiration, the iminent arrival of the deadline or just the sheer need to do something else, it all fits into place. I agree with 062 inasmuch as you shouldn’t worry too much about what the shape is.

    If it’s any consternation whilst you are struggling the travails of academeic gymnastics – I helped win an ENORMOUS management development programme deal last week, the victory over our competitors was attributed to our innovative approach to training busy managers.

    The innovative element was all about blogs, vods, pods and forums which I would not have had the “Heart, Mind or Courage” to put in without what you have taught me about these media so far.

    I do have the small matter of keeping my audacious promises now but hey – at least I won’t get any hassle from the missus if I have to work late every night next year! (she’ll be off doing same)

    And as for Slow Loris, if that is looking “speedy” maybe you could put a couple of teaspoons or tablespoons of whatever she’s on into your cocoa, might get a few more miles an hour out of the keyboard?

    Wired!

    Comment by Toto — December 11, 2006 @ 9:43 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

